Fall Reading List and Other Announcements

Well, fall is here. Football season is in full swing and I am finishing up my fall reading list. This fall I am centering my reading on the topic of leadership. Here are the books I hope to read this fall:

Rescuing Ambition, Dave Harvey – A reformed perspective on redeeming ambition: Yes, Please!

Review http://wp.me/p136Ot-1s

Leading Cross-Culturally, Sherwood Lingenfelter – The subtitle of this book says it all. “Covenant Relationships for Effective Christian Leadership”

The Trellis and the Vine, Colin Marshall and Tony Payne – This book has been getting great reviews and comes highly recommended.

The Archer and the Arrow, Phillip Jensen and Paul Grimmond – This book is from the same publisher/series as The Trellis and the Vine. If one is good, will two be better?

The Shepherd Leader, Timothy Witmer – This book was on sale/recommended by Westminster Seminary’s bookstore. It fits the topic, we’ll see what it’s about.

The Five Dysfunctions of a Team, Patrick Lencioni – This is not a Christian book, but Lencioni is a leadership guru of sorts. I have read a lot about this book and am eager to actually read it.

Silos, Politics, and Turf Wars, Patrick Lencioni – This is another by Lencioni. I purchased it as an ebook and will be the first book I have read completely on an e-reader.
Review: http://bit.ly/ayroK8

Leading with a Limp, Dan Allender – Love Allender and this book shouldn’t disappoint.

In addition to these books (which I will cross-out and review when I finish them), I am going to attempt another project beginning this fall. Inspired by the hokie movie Julia and Julia, I am going to begin reading through the works of Justin Martyr and blogging through my thoughts. I have never read any of Justin Martyr’s works, so this should be fun. Look for weekly post marked Justin and Justin as part of this series.

Tags: , , ,

About futonreformer

I am a pastor in the PCA serving in Myrtle Beach, SC. I am a sixth generation Tampa native and I love the Rays and Bucs!

Leave a Reply

