Winter/Spring Reading List

This Winter/Spring I am going to focus my reading on the topic of preaching. Even though my work load will be high this season, I couldn’t narrow down my choices and so my list is pretty long.

The Shape of Preaching: Dennis Cahill – I don’t know much about this book, but it seems like a fairly middle of the road book on preaching. Just a meat and potatoes standard text. The forward is written by Haddon Robinson. It’s that kind of traditional.

Between Two Worlds: John Stott – This is the best book on preaching that I have never read. I have heard people talk about. I have read about it’s influence, but I haven’t read it. This will change.

The Modern Preacher and the Ancient Text: Sidney Greidanus – I have read another book by Greidanus (Preaching Christ from the Old Testament) and loved it. This is his standard text on preaching.

Preaching to a Post-Everything World: Zack Eswine – This book had me at hello. What a title! Then to have endorsements by Chapell and Keller, wow. I have high expectations for this book. I hope it can deliver.

Preaching the Whole Bible as Christian Scripture: Graeme Goldsworthy – Goldsworthy is the Biblical Theologian du jour. His book on redemptive history, According to Plan, is incredible. This is another book that I have very high hopes for.

The Expository Genius of John Calvin: John Lawson – Interesting combination of biography and teaching. This book is short and could pack quite a punch…we’ll see.

Feed My Sheep: A Passionate Plea for Preaching: Various Authors – This is a collection of essays collected by Reformation Trust. My guess is it will be a mixed bag. Just a hunch.

Text:Messaging: Douglas Webster – Another fantastic title. This book is short and I am curious to see what it puts as the main point of preaching. It is written by the preaching prof at Beason Seminary. Both guys I have met from Beason are great, so I decided the book would need to be added to the (long) list.

A Cross Shattered Church: Stanley Hauerwas – Hauerwas challenges my perspective and leads my to think deeply about my faith. While we may disagree, I think that there will be a great deal of gain in reading his book on preaching. http://wp.me/p136Ot-4y

Telling the Truth: Frederick Buechner – Last time I preached, someone asked me who I listened to and where my style came from. On my best day, I would love for God to allow me to sound like Buechner. He is one of my top 5 preachers of all time. http://wp.me/p136Ot-2h

In addition to all these, I am still working my way through Metaxas’s biography of Bonhoeffer. When I finish that, I am going to start a biography of Herman Bavinck. As I finish I will strike through the entry and add the URL to my review.

Tags:

About futonreformer

I am a pastor in the PCA serving in Myrtle Beach, SC. I am a sixth generation Tampa native and I love the Rays and Bucs!

Leave a Reply

