Matines: A prayer for pastors on Monday

Yesterday, I had the privilege to preach at Surfside. You can listen to the sermon here. preaching is one of the most awkward and draining things that I can think of. There is the tension to be faithful to the text, while at the same time affectively communicating that text to the people of the congregation.

On top of that at Surfside PCA, we have to preach back to back services. I find myself distracted in the second service by the slight differences in my sermon (against the first service). Then, after this exhausting exercise, you have to stand in the receiving line and hear comments, some genuine, some not; some encouraging, some not so much.

Father,

As we wake up this morning, we are reminded of our unfaithfulness

We have not prepared the way we should, We have been distracted by all kinds of things.

We have thought too often about the way our words will reflect on us instead of how they will reflect on you.

Lord, forgive me for my non-chalance in approaching your pulpit; for my cavalier attitude towards your call.

Jesus, this morning may the marrow of what was preached yesterday settle into the hearts of the congregation.

May your words continue to penetrate the lives of your people.

Father may people forget the messenger and the way he bumbled the message, and remember You.

Without this, I am undone.

About futonreformer

I am a pastor in the PCA serving in Myrtle Beach, SC. I am a sixth generation Tampa native and I love the Rays and Bucs!

One response to “Matines: A prayer for pastors on Monday”

  1. Cate S says :

    You did a fabulous job yesterday! May you only hear the criticism He wants you to hear!

Leave a Reply

