Monday Matines: A Prayer for Unexpected Emails

I feel like I spend a great deal of time explaining that I love/hate technology. Steve Jobs and Wendel Berry are raging inside of me. Wendel Berry hasn’t ever one, but he puts up a great fight. I would link to some of the works of Wendel, but he is quite the Luddite.

No area is more conflicting than the availability of information and accessibility of communication. Last night, I was sitting with Angie, watching a favorite TV show when my phone buzzed. The magical “tritone of email awareness” rang through the house and I instinctively picked up my phone and read the email.

The weekend had been long and exhausting. I was tired. I was emotional. The socket where my recently removed molar had resided ached. I had been struggling all day with things that I thought I was sure of. I had been sure of them just a few days earlier.

But now I wasn’t.

And the email that popped up pushed me further down the road of uncertainty. It robbed me of sleep and disturbed my fragile peace of mind. How dare it. If I had gotten the email a day before, no big deal. A day later, probably wouldn’t have phased me. But in that moment, it messed me up.

Father, You are the maker of all things
You created creativity and have blessed your children with the ability to conceive and create new things
You are not shocked by technology, nor is it out of your hands

Ultimately, emails come from your hand.
You can slow servers and deaden cell towers

Lord, when you surprise us, your children, with unexpected news help us to seek your face
When you allow our hearts to experience confusion, help us to seek you

Clear our minds and give us wisdom.
You are clear, if we lack wisdom and ask for it you will give it to us
Lord we need wisdom
Lord, I need wisdom

Tags:

About futonreformer

I am a pastor in the PCA serving in Myrtle Beach, SC. I am a sixth generation Tampa native and I love the Rays and Bucs!

Leave a Reply

