Tunesday: Conceptual Reality and Storyteller

When I moved to Myrtle beach, two of the first characters I met were into Ska music. I mean, really into ska music. Card-carrying members of the Aquabats Army. And who am I to hate; I grew up in the era of No doubt and Less Than Jake. (And for those of you who have known me for a long time, let us please forget the Left Shoe Untied era)

But as time moved on, these two characters grew up, both musically and in their vision for art. One of them, in an effort to foster better music in the greater Myrtle Beach area started an indy label. Encouraging locals to share their talent and fostering this through show promotion and record releases. While Tom hasn’t been able to devote the time he once thought into this endeavor (since becoming the editor for the University’s literary magazine) he has a knack for identifying talent.

The other character moved away and has flourished at the College of Charleston. Michael, has grown in his talent as a musician while studying psychology. Gone from his music is the over the top fluff. What’s left is an incredible blend of narrative and neo-folk.

Why I am so proud of these two guys is because they have allowed their genuine Reformed faith to work itself out in their chosen mediums. Michael and Tom have created beauty from the chaos around them. I couldn’t be happier to know these two.

The Sad Songs EP is a split between Michael’s roommate Shane (Conceptual Reality) and Michael’s solo project (Storyteller). It is released through Bandcamp of Tom’s label, Rose and Arrow Records.

Conceptual Reality is a fantastic mix of post-rock/soundscapes that would Brian Eno proud and an indy sensibility that reminds me of bands like Margot and the Nuclear So-and-Sos, Carrousel, and All-Time Quaterback. Pretty great stuff that you can listen to over and over.

Storyteller’s half of the EP could have come straight off the B-sides of Bright Eyes Digital Ash in a Digital Urn/I’m Wide Awake It’s Morning. From the diversity (a ska influenced bluegrass song!?) of the music to the honesty of the lyrics (the pain in my heart goes away when I wash my self in the shower of all my thoughts) Michael is a Storyteller. Check out the whole EP and share it with your friends!

 

Tags: , , ,

About futonreformer

I am a pastor in the PCA serving in Myrtle Beach, SC. I am a sixth generation Tampa native and I love the Rays and Bucs!

Leave a Reply

