Tunesday: Denison Marrs

When I was a teenager, my one strong passion was rock music. And I was fortunate enough to live in Tampa, where the independent music was thriving in the late 90’s. I was at a show every weekend with my crew of Ace, Bowie, Pytlik, and whoever else jumped in my ’85 Buick Regal that night. We saw Underoath (when they were scary metal) and Anberlin (when they were a ska band called saGoh 24/7) a hundred times.

And yet from that Tampa music scene, one band stands out as the biggest influence on my musicaly taste. Denison Marrs was a spacey indy rock band from the next town over. Everytime I went to there show, I was stunned. It didn’t matter how many times I saw them, I never wanted the show to end. One of the best shows I have ever seen was at an old Lutheran church in Clearwater. Denison Marrs saw the venue with it’s large stain glassed wall behind the stage and moved all the lights outside and pointed them inward through the stain glass. Then when they started their set, the windows were lit up and no other lights were on. The entire show was played as they were only visible as black silhouettes. Awesome.

But even better than their showmanship was thier music. They blended a lead guitar with an armada of effects with beautiful crunchy rhythms. Their lead singer Eric would sing over top of these changes while the drummer avoided the high hat like it was the plague. If you listen to their music (two songs are available at the bottom of this post) you might think it is another indie band.

But here’s the thing. These songs are almost 15 years old! These guys were way ahead of their time. Their album, Holding Hands @ 35,000 Feet is still in very heavy rotation in my iTunes. Enjoy these emo tunes from the days when Emo was a good thing!

Tags: , ,

About futonreformer

I am a pastor in the PCA serving in Myrtle Beach, SC. I am a sixth generation Tampa native and I love the Rays and Bucs!

Leave a Reply

