So I know this guy…a tribute

So there is this guy, who I met through strange circumstances. His girlfriend was reading Donald Miller in a coffee shop where I was hocking lattes. Her parents went to my church so I struck up a conversation. She told me about her super cool boyfriend who gave the book to her and I thought, “Well, that’s nice.” She arranged a sort of man-date the next time he was in town and we went to see X-men (or was it Batman?) and she was right; he was pretty cool. We started hanging out and one time I got on his case because he didn’t tell us about his girlfriend’s birthday. I balled him out about letting us know about stuff like that as he sat there silently. On his birthday.

So there is this guy, whose girlfriend seemed to move on the most inconvenient days. You know the kind when no one could show up to help. And not only that she would move up and down huge three story apartment complexes with two jack-knife stairwells. I am not sure if I have ever been as tired as the day me and this guy single handedly moved a three bedroom apartment with an office and a sectional sofa by ourselves. And yet, as terrible as it was, I remember that day with fondness. And then I remember moving her out of that apartment; we had more help.

So there is this guy who helped me out while I was pastoring teens in Tampa. He lead worship at camps and at this guerrilla worship service we put together. What I remember most about those times was this certain something about the way he led worship. I have been to his church recently and he still has this jenesiqua, what the French call, well even the French don’t know what to call it. The only people who have a word for the way that this guy leads others in worship of Christ is the charismatics. They call it an “anointing”; they are right. When this guy leads worship, the room around you melts away and you sense that you have been lifted into the throne room of the great God above all gods. Every time I have the chance, I love to worship under this guys leadership.

So there is this guy who was kind enough to ask me to stand up for him in his wedding. I watched as loved his fiancé. I marveled at his self-control abroad. I remember grabbing bagels just days before the wedding and talking about what it is like to be married to a lioness. I have watched this guy quietly and gently lead his bride. I have learned so much about humility and grace from this guy as a husband. I know that the only way that he can lead his wife in this way is because his heart has been led by Christ. This guy is the model for me and so many others of a man who is strength wrapped in tenderness.

So there is this guy and I am blessed to call him my friend. Even though we live 9 hours away from one another, we can always pick right back up where we left off. We never miss a beat and his friendship is something I enjoy more than most things.

I know this guy, and his name is Nathan.

 

Tags: ,

About futonreformer

I am a pastor in the PCA serving in Myrtle Beach, SC. I am a sixth generation Tampa native and I love the Rays and Bucs!

Leave a Reply

